1983 - 2012 Ranger & B-Series All Ford Ranger and Mazda B-Series models

The forever question: How the heck do I get my clutch bled??

Search this Thread

Old 04-04-2015, 09:08 PM
bluemtn95ford
Elder User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
The forever question: How the heck do I get my clutch bled??

Hey all I'm new to this section of the forum,

I just bought a 94 2wd ranger 5spd. 50000 original miles on the 2.3l. I picked her up from a hospital clinic, it appears to have been used as maintenance vehicle, barely driven, maintained to the dot. Oil changed every 3000 miles. The one issue was the clutch, it wouldn't/wont disengage. I, never owning a hydraulic clutch, assumed that the clutch had been ridden severely and needed replacing, not knowing that it was most likely an issue with the hydraulic system. Anyway I replaced the clutch pad, pressure plate, pilot bearing, and slave cylinder. I've got everything bolted back together and am now at the point of needing to bleed the clutch. When I checked the reservoir it was bone dry, I've heard this means I need to bleed the master cylinder before the slave? I've seen videos saying I should disassemble the master cylinder under the clutch pedal and pull up on the cylinder itself until fluid comes out, thereby purging air from the master.

I've tried to do this with no results. The fluid does not come out and it has no effect (I did refill the reservoir multiple times throughout). I have bled the standard "brake method" by pressing the clutch pedal to the floor and opening the bleeder valve on the slave. Closing the valve and then releasing the pedal. I repeated ten times or so. Still no results. The clutch goes to the floor with no resistance. I've searched online and haven't found anything specific to my problem. Any advice?

Thanks guys, Always a big help.

Old 04-05-2015, 01:04 PM
f5fordgirl
Laughing Gas
Received 108 Likes on 94 Posts