1999 - 2003 7.3L Power Stroke Diesel  
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DP Tuner

What to look for when buying a 2000 7.3 Powerstroke First Timer Here!

Search this Thread

Old 03-19-2015, 07:22 PM
7.3 Powerstroke Guy
Mountain Pass
Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts
What to look for when buying a 2000 7.3 Powerstroke First Timer Here!

This weekend I'm going to look at a 2000 F-250 7.3 Powerstroke 4x4 XLT. It has 228k miles on it and the truck and engine are bone stock. The seller told me that the batteries and starter have just been replaced. Also, there is no rust on the oil pan which does not leak. Is there anything in specific I should look at on the engine and truck to determine if the truck is worn out or not? Also, what should I look for when test driving the truck? Please offer me any advice. This is my first time purchasing a diesel Ford pickup.

Thanks,
Jimmy

Old 03-19-2015, 07:41 PM
Baatzy
Laughing Gas
Received 12 Likes on 6 Posts
Take a look at the tech folder at the top of the forum page. There is a lot of good information in there. I recommend taking a look in there, doing some good reading and then posting more specific questions here if you still have them.

Baatzy

Old 03-19-2015, 07:53 PM
whitetmw
Posting Guru
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Old 03-19-2015, 08:07 PM
7.3 Powerstroke Guy
Mountain Pass
Originally Posted by Baatzy
Take a look at the tech folder at the top of the forum page. There is a lot of good information in there. I recommend taking a look in there, doing some good reading and then posting more specific questions here if you still have them.

Baatzy
Thanks for mentioning it to me!

Old 03-19-2015, 08:07 PM
7.3 Powerstroke Guy
Mountain Pass
I watched all of his videos. His information is extremely useful.

Old 03-19-2015, 08:08 PM
7.3 Powerstroke Guy
Mountain Pass
Old 03-19-2015, 08:35 PM
JuanHuevos
I'm still around...mostly
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by 7.3 Powerstroke Guy