1980 - 1986 Bullnose F100, F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Early Eighties Bullnose Ford Truck

Sand blaster or Soda blaster to clean F250 fame and cab?

Search this Thread

Old 01-07-2015, 07:57 AM
c2z4s9
Mountain Pass
Received 4 Likes on 2 Posts
Sand blaster or Soda blaster to clean F250 fame and cab?

Hello all. Let me start by saying I have no experience with media blasting. I have an 85 F250 stripped down to its frame and it's covered in mud and oil filth. I had been using a paint scraper to remove the approximately 1/8" of mud from the flat parts of the frame, but this doesn't remove all the mud and I can't get into all the nooks and such. I have a needler that I've been using and that helps somewhat, but is also slow.

I am considering buying a soda blaster or a sand blaster. After tackling the frame I have to remove paint and crud from the bottom of the cab as there are rust (hole) issues that need to be resolved there.

Regarding the frame, my goal is to remove the mud. I am not overly concerned with the rust as I plan on painting with POR15 after the mud and filth is removed. Regarding the cab, my goal is to remove the filth, grime, and paint so I can evaluate the damage and install replacement panels.

My questions to you fine gentlemen:

1. Soda blaster or sand blaster?

2. Regarding soda blasting, would a soda blaster be able to remove that "1/8" of mud from the frame? Would I have to clean the frame before painting it? Washing it with water at the moment is not an awesome idea as it's about 5 degrees F outside.

3. If sandblasting, can I sandblast other components on the truck without worrying about damage? I would media blast the diffs and other drivetrain components to remove dirt / filth.

4. If sandblasting the cab what media would you suggest to remove dirt, paint, and light rust without causing damage?

Thanks for all your help!

Old 01-07-2015, 08:43 AM
Gary Lewis
Posting Legend
Received 26 Likes on 24 Posts