Terminator and t56 swap into 56 f100 - Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums

Notices
1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

Terminator and t56 swap into 56 f100

Reply

 
 
 
  #1  
Old 10-19-2014, 03:15 PM
FastFred68
FastFred68 is offline
Junior User
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 98
FastFred68 is starting off with a positive reputation.
Terminator and t56 swap into 56 f100

Hi, I'm in the planning phase of this swap. I'm wondering if anyone else has done it? I've seen mid motors swapped but not the terminator. I have questions on fuel delivery, headers, and fitting the huge motor around my steering.
Thanks, Fred
 
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-19-2014, 07:31 PM
CharlieLed's Avatar
CharlieLed
CharlieLed is offline
Post Fiend
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: El Cajon, CA
Posts: 5,839
CharlieLed has a brilliant futureCharlieLed has a brilliant futureCharlieLed has a brilliant futureCharlieLed has a brilliant futureCharlieLed has a brilliant futureCharlieLed has a brilliant futureCharlieLed has a brilliant futureCharlieLed has a brilliant futureCharlieLed has a brilliant futureCharlieLed has a brilliant futureCharlieLed has a brilliant future
Check out Steve Stillwell's 56 F100...google it or contact him at TCI where he works in sales.
 
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-19-2014, 08:20 PM
FastFred68
FastFred68 is offline
Junior User
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 98
FastFred68 is starting off with a positive reputation.
[QUOTE=CharlieLed;14754653]Check out Steve Stillwell's 56 F100...google it or contact him at TCI where he works in sales.[/QUOTE

Thanks, I'll check it out
 
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-20-2014, 05:01 AM
AXracer's Avatar
AXracer
AXracer is offline
Post Fiend
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Durham NC
Posts: 15,754
AXracer has much to be proud ofAXracer has much to be proud ofAXracer has much to be proud ofAXracer has much to be proud ofAXracer has much to be proud ofAXracer has much to be proud ofAXracer has much to be proud ofAXracer has much to be proud of
I've got a CSB 400 and T56 in my 56 panel. It's a long tranny so you'll need bucket seats as the shifter would be under a bench seat. Where did you get a Terminator motor and what do you plan on using the truck for?
 
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-20-2014, 07:18 AM
FastFred68
FastFred68 is offline
Junior User
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 98
FastFred68 is starting off with a positive reputation.
Hi, I got the engine, trans etc, from a wrecked 2004 cobra. The truck will be mostly a cruiser with some drag strip duty. What did you do for a clutch pedal? My motor is supposed to show up next week, but from what I've read it's cable operated?
 
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-20-2014, 12:10 PM
AXracer's Avatar
AXracer
AXracer is offline
Post Fiend
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Durham NC
Posts: 15,754
AXracer has much to be proud ofAXracer has much to be proud ofAXracer has much to be proud ofAXracer has much to be proud ofAXracer has much to be proud ofAXracer has much to be proud ofAXracer has much to be proud ofAXracer has much to be proud of
My T56 clutch is hydraulic with an external slave cylinder. The trans is from a 92 Camaro so I modified and adapted a pedal set from that make and model vehicle along with the matching clutch and brake MC. Since the 56 steering column exits thru the floor rather than firewall above pedal mount like modern vehicles my pedal mount needed to be modified to separate the two pedals so they straddled the column.
What front suspension, steering are you planning to use? You do know the stock 56 chassis is flexible which is OK for street use/moderate HP but not very suitable for drag race use with high HP and slicks without significant modification.
 
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-20-2014, 12:52 PM
FastFred68
FastFred68 is offline
Junior User
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 98
FastFred68 is starting off with a positive reputation.
Thanks for getting back to me AXracer. My truck has been heavily modified. I took it down to the bare frame and cut off everything that wasn't needed. I then boxed the front end of it and installed a tci mustang2 and a tci 4-link out back on an explorer 8.8 rear. I have power rack and pinion, power 4 wheel discs and 20" gt500 wheels all the way around. It would be easier to use the gm t56 because of the hydraulic slave. I have done that swap with an ls3 in my 68 vette. The problem with the ford t56 is the cable actuated pedal. I see tci makes a dual underfloor pedal with brake booster and hydraulic clutch. Maybe I can adapt the f body throw out bearing to work on my t56? I might also have to adapt the cobras hydro boost as we'll. I looked at your photos, did you just fab a bracket under the dash for your clutch pedal?
 
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-20-2014, 04:03 PM
AXracer's Avatar
AXracer
AXracer is offline
Post Fiend
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Durham NC
Posts: 15,754
AXracer has much to be proud ofAXracer has much to be proud ofAXracer has much to be proud ofAXracer has much to be proud ofAXracer has much to be proud ofAXracer has much to be proud ofAXracer has much to be proud ofAXracer has much to be proud of
A PO installed the tranny and a strange pedal setup with a hanging aftermarket clutch pedal using the original 56 brake MC on the firewall for the clutch and the original underfloor brake pedal with a new non boosted dual circuit brake MC under the floor!?!?
It worked but it was a little strange feeling driving it. I used a combination of the Camaro pedals, with the unique plastic OEM Camaro clutch MC, and the Camaro brake MC with a dual diaphragm booster mounted on the firewall. The pedal bracket was made by combining the Camaro bracket with the ? clutch pedal bracket to spread the pedals.
 
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-20-2014, 04:19 PM
FastFred68
FastFred68 is offline
Junior User
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 98
FastFred68 is starting off with a positive reputation.
Originally Posted by AXracer View Post
A PO installed the tranny and a strange pedal setup with a hanging aftermarket clutch pedal using the original 56 brake MC on the firewall for the clutch and the original underfloor brake pedal with a new non boosted dual circuit brake MC under the floor!?!?
It worked but it was a little strange feeling driving it. I used a combination of the Camaro pedals, with the unique plastic OEM Camaro clutch MC, and the Camaro brake MC with a dual diaphragm booster mounted on the firewall. The pedal bracket was made by combining the Camaro bracket with the ? clutch pedal bracket to spread the pedals.
Yeah it looks like I have a major project ahead of me. I may try to get the factory hydraboost from the mustang in there as well. I didn't think about how for back the shifter was. I just had my bench seat redone...
 
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-22-2014, 09:46 PM
mustangmike6996's Avatar
mustangmike6996
mustangmike6996 is offline
Elder User
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Metro Detroit-MI
Posts: 946
mustangmike6996 has a good reputation on FTE.mustangmike6996 has a good reputation on FTE.
Originally Posted by FastFred68 View Post
Yeah it looks like I have a major project ahead of me. I may try to get the factory hydraboost from the mustang in there as well. I didn't think about how for back the shifter was. I just had my bench seat redone...

I think its really 6 one way and a half dozen the other way....

The power steering rack should work ok with your pump but you will need custom lines (would've needed them most likely anyway)

the hydroboost fab work at the firewall wont be terrible but, as mentioned above, you will need to fab up the pedals.

I have seen a few companies offer the 48-52 style brake master cyl/power booster support with provisions for a clutch master cyl. There are plenty of hydraulic t.o. bearing kits that are universal. Is the F100 brake system under the floorpans as well?

I think you might be further ahead to mock your engine/trans up, see how much room you have next to and on top of the massive 4.6's cam cover. That might put your hydroboost unit too far off center to do anything decent with pedals.

Again, anything can be done, just depends how much time and money you want to spend to do it.
 
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 10-23-2014, 07:48 AM
FastFred68
FastFred68 is offline
Junior User
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 98
FastFred68 is starting off with a positive reputation.
One issue I'll have with the pedals is the fact that the steering column will run right through the middle of them. I currently am running my brakes under the floor. I have seen a combo under floor brake and clutch master, and it was the route I was planning on going until I saw the mustang used the cable set up. Ive been looking for any info on using a full hydraulic setup, but I haven't found a thing. Maybe I should get ahold of McLeod and see if the have a t/o bearing I can use. I will be getting the motor and trans mocked up ASAP, if you look under the hood of the cobra it fits the hydro in a tight spot also. I'm still waiting for my engine to show up, and then i can see what I'm up against.
 
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-24-2014, 02:48 PM
FastFred68
FastFred68 is offline
Junior User
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 98
FastFred68 is starting off with a positive reputation.
What wiring harness? Dunn right or telorvac? I saw on trucks that the Dunn right works with the stock harness and only requires a 4 wire hook up.
 
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10-27-2014, 01:32 AM
mustangmike6996's Avatar
mustangmike6996
mustangmike6996 is offline
Elder User
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Metro Detroit-MI
Posts: 946
mustangmike6996 has a good reputation on FTE.mustangmike6996 has a good reputation on FTE.
has anyone done the hydraulic clutch conversion on their cobra? - Page 3


Not a ton of help but that should get you pointed in the right direction.

I know that Modern Driveline makes direct swap kits for the T5s from linkage to hyd with the TO bearing. Its not a huge deal, You just need the TO bearing and a slave cylinder to pressurize it. Maybe look into the newer style S197 bearings and master cyl. It probably wont work but the master cyl and res. were all one piece if I remember correctly.
 
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 10-28-2014, 08:50 PM
mustangmike6996's Avatar
mustangmike6996
mustangmike6996 is offline
Elder User
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Metro Detroit-MI
Posts: 946
mustangmike6996 has a good reputation on FTE.mustangmike6996 has a good reputation on FTE.
https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/1...mod-build.html

Also, there is a hyd. clutch setup about 1/2 way down this build page.
 
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 11-15-2014, 08:16 AM
FastFred68
FastFred68 is offline
Junior User
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 98
FastFred68 is starting off with a positive reputation.
Well I started on the swap yesterday. I removed the front clip, and started disconnecting the engine.



On the way to my buddies shop





The tear down
 
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Terminator and t56 swap into 56 f100


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.