Pre-Power Stroke Diesel (7.3L IDI & 6.9L) Diesel Topics Only

Excessive cooling system pressure. Oh great

Search this Thread

Old 09-11-2014, 12:47 PM
jrnice
Freshman User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Excessive cooling system pressure. Oh great

I was hoping to get a little more input before I face the inevitable.

History: 2001, I bought a 1990 F-450 Flatbed tow truck. 7.3 IDI. True mileage unknown but I thought maybe 200,000 as it already had a reman engine.

2003 - installed a Banks Turbo. Shortly thereafter basically blew the engine. Had a new reman installed by the local IH dealer, who re-installed the Banks.

In the last 10 years, I put about 20k miles on it, so it sits a bit. .About a year + ago, it developed excessive coolant pressure and I quit driving it. It was also blowing a bit more dirty exhaust. I don't think it was whitish. Bottom line, now I need to fix it.

I am NOT a diesel mechanic, nor have I done much more than replace the waterpump, fan clutch and injector pump. I have done a lot of work on other areas of it.

Preliminarily, yesterday I pressurized the cooling system to 13+ psi and pulled the relatively new glow plugs. No change in pressure or sounds of air or evidence of water escaping as I did it.. They all look good with no signs of damage.

Last night I pumped it up to 20+ psi. I cranked the engine a bit just to see if I could uncover any potential holes in a cylinder. 16 hours later I checked it and it was only down to 10.

From what Ive read, it seems like my problem(s) could be a bad head gasket(s), cracked head(s)/ or block....or cavitation. None of that makes me happy on a reman engine I've only put 20k miles on and done routine maintenance. It was $8k to have it done in 2003, and I won't pay that again.

I'd like to narrow it down. Seems funny that if I pressurize the system, and I cant "reverse" the symptoms and hear anything coming out the glow plug holes.

My thinking....next,
1) drain oil and look for water.