1980 - 1986 Bullnose F100, F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Early Eighties Bullnose Ford Truck

Gonna buy a Dana 60 SAS, what do I need to look for?

Search this Thread

Old 08-25-2014, 09:22 AM
SVTDriver97
More Turbo
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Gonna buy a Dana 60 SAS, what do I need to look for?

Hey guys,

I'm in the market for a Dana 60 SAS axle and i'm going to look at one this weekend.

Guy said it's already been sandblasted and painted. It's out of a '91 F350, it was before they used ball joints, so it's a king pin axle.

Those are the only pictures he sent me.

I'm a complete newbie when it comes to axles. I think I have Dana 50 in my '86 F250 and as long as the spring perches are 35" and it has 4.10's in it...it should work. Right?

I want to make sure that i'm not buying a complete POS, so what should I look for? Obviously cracks in the case, but is there a way to determine that the hubs work, and everything works as it should when it's out of the truck? Guy is charging me $950 to put 4.10's in it, (it has 3.54's in it now he says) If I were to buy it with the 3.54's in it now, he'll only charge me $850, which I still think is a little on the high side, but it's close to me, and I can get it.

What do you all think?

Old 08-25-2014, 11:16 AM
ArdWrknTrk
pedant

Received 15 Likes on 15 Posts
The price is whatever the market will pay.
Kingpin 60's are desirable and he knows it.
$100 for a properly setup R&P swap seems like a good deal to me.

D50 came with supercab F250's, otherwise it would have to be ordered as part of a plow package.
Do your hubs come straight out like a can, or do they taper like a plastic cup?

Old 08-25-2014, 12:24 PM
SVTDriver97
More Turbo
Originally Posted by ArdWrknTrk
The price is whatever the market will pay.
Kingpin 60's are desirable and he knows it.

D50 came with supercab F250's, otherwise it would have to be ordered as part of a plow package.