1997 - 2003 F150 1997-2003 F150, 1997-1999 F250LD, 7700 & 2004 F150 Heritage

Teach me/sell me on one of these trucks

Old 07-22-2014, 07:11 PM
ddavidv
Posting Guru
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Question Teach me/sell me on one of these trucks

Hi guys. I infrequently hang around the classic section of this forum but am considering buying a more modern truck for towing duty. In browsing trucks on Ebay and Craigslist I was surprised to find I can get one of these trucks for as little as $2500-$3000. Granted, that's with high miles, but miles don't really scare me if the truck has been cared for. I need to tow a 2500# car on a steel dual axle trailer, plus haul extras like tools, extra wheels, etc to the track on weekends. What I have been using for the past several years has been this:

It's quite the hit in the paddock, and it's done surprisingly well (352, 3 speed, disc brake conversion) but advancing age on both truck and driver are starting to take their toll. Things I once tolerated because it was fun having the old rig for occasional duties such as this have started to really wear me down as I race towards the age of 50. Like, power steering would be nice.

If I go with a 'new' truck, it will simply be a tool. It will sit outside, and cosmetics won't be important. Reliability is a must, and the high mileage thread indicates that these trucks can be dependable with a modicum of care. Though I vastly prefer the looks of a SuperDuty, the added expense for the use it will see can't be justified. So, an F150 will have to do.