Sponsored by: Moser

1974 Ford F100 Issues

Search this Thread

Old 07-07-2014, 11:32 PM
Daveseviltwin
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1974 Ford F100 Issues

Sorry for the long post but I'm going to describe my situation the best I can. I inherited a 1974 F-100 with a 302. The truck was "functional" before sitting in a garage for 5-6 years. I'm not a mechanic but I've done a top end rebuild successfully on my Dad's 1973 F-100 also with a 302.
Before I did any work to the truck I had it towed. All fuel lines and gas tank were replaced. Then mechanic did new plugs, wires, oil etc. At that point we were seeing low compression on 2 cylinders and there was a manifold gasket leak. I decided to do a top end rebuild. My uncle at some point showed me paperwork for new pistons, bearings, lifters etc.
I assumed I'd be fine with just rebuilding top end.
I replaced distributor, heads, converted to roller rockers, all new gaskets, thermostat, weiand 8124 intake, 4 barrel Edelbrock 600 cfm carb, new alternator, battery, coil, starter solenoid, water pump and timing chain.

Here's where the variables set in. I had a mechanic friend helping me one day and we did the valve adjustment and dumped the oil. He, for some reason, didn't remove the drain plug all the way to dump all the oil. So somehow, my first crank was with too much oil. Before putting the truck on the road I let it idle for 45 minutes. I adjusted valves again and made sure no leaks. Everything had full compression and sounded great. No knocks, no smoke and a perfect idle. When I checked oil it was not registering too high yet. I go down the road 1/4 of a mile and pulled over to look and it blew oil out of the dipstick. I bring it back and then I see that it has 3-4 quarts of too much oil. It was a sad day and I felt like an idiot.