New truck with no Carburetor

Search this Thread

Old 05-23-2014, 01:57 PM
mx21
Junior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
New truck with no Carburetor

Hello all,

Im new to this older truck scene. I recently bought a 1973 F250 with a 360 or 390 not sure yet. It came with no carb. What are my best options to get a stock replacement carb, or is better to get a bigger aftermarket carb now? Would knowing for sure what the motor is (360/390) make a difference in the carb?

Pretty general questions I know, but any help that could sent me in the right direction would be helpful.

Also I noticed the rear driver-side stud for the carb was a bigger size then the other 3. Thats not stock right? Maybe the previous owner rethreaded a bigger stud in?

Thanks for the help!

[IMG][/IMG]

Old 05-23-2014, 02:14 PM
redroad
Lead Driver
Received 493 Likes on 411 Posts
You have an aftermarket edelbrock torker or RPM intake it looks like ? The longer stud was put there to accommodate some throttle or kickdown linkage bracket once the carb was nutted down .. I can't imagine that the aftermarket parts I see on the motor would be put on a 360 .. So 390 would be my first guess .. Carb size is going to depend on what mods were done to the internals of the motor .. I think I would first try and borrow a 750 cfm carb from someone and disconnect the fuel line from the pump to the tank, buy about 6ft of fuel line and run it from the pump to a fuel can with fresh fuel sitting the can on a stool or chair and see what you got .. If the motor has been sitting awhile (do this step first) take out all the plugs and put a squirt of tranny fluid down each hole and turn the motor over awhile with plugs out .. Oh and take your shop vac and suck the debris from around each spark plug hole so you don't knock anything down in the cylinder (this step is not optional)

Old 05-23-2014, 02:24 PM
mx21
Junior User
Originally Posted by redroad