1994.5 - 1997 7.3L Power Stroke Diesel  

Fuel pump shot - looking at going to e-fuel

Search this Thread

Old 05-22-2014, 01:22 AM
James Shook
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Fuel pump shot - looking at going to e-fuel

Hey all this is my first post in here. I have read some on this forum and figured I could use some advice from you guys.
My 97 F350 7.3 is currently down due to a shot fuel pump - best as I can tell. I am not a mechanic, def not a diesel mechanic, but I think I am up to changing the fuel pump out.
I have heard about and been to told that it would be a good idea to go to an electric fuel pump. Espec since I would like to start doing some mods to my truck for fuel efficiency/power/kicks and they say this is a good place to start.
Anyone one here done their own e-fuel conversion? Dumb question, I am sure some of yall have - would you mind helping me out a little? I am doing some digging myself but my work schedule and current shared transportation doesnt offer me much screen time.
What I would really like to find would be a kit that is all-inclusive and has everything I need to switch. That may be dreaming but I have read some DIY e-fuel write ups where the owner fabricated parts and fittings etc. Unofrtunately I dont have the means or know-how to do that, even though I would like to.

Any help would be appreciated!

Old 05-22-2014, 03:59 AM
stainlessstroker95
Postmaster
Welcome to the forum! What makes you think the fuel pump is out? Have you checked fuel pressure? Is it leaking? Just making sure you dont have other problems. Some put together there own kit and some buy a pre made kit. Just depends whether you have the time and resources. I got my kit from Irate diesel. It was a complet and good quialty kit. There are others out there too. Bar none diesel is a common one around here. Stick around, theres good people here.

Old 05-22-2014, 07:13 AM
MOOSE_MACHINE
Postmaster
Received 4 Likes on 2 Posts