6.4L Power Stroke Diesel Engine fitted to 2008 - 2010 F250, F350 and F450 pickup trucks and F350 + Cab Chassis

Thinking about buying a 6.4 and have some questions

Old 04-20-2014, 05:17 PM
camocursion
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Thinking about buying a 6.4 and have some questions

1. What is a fair price, the truck in question is a f-350 with 220,000 miles on it I am not concerned with hi miles because I am mechanic (ag mechanic not auto) and have two 7.3s with over 260,000 miles on them but I am new to the 6.4.
2. I have heard these trucks are fuel hogs but I plan on doing exhaust and an cold air intake, and egr delete from mkm custom and it has a h+s pro street tuner with it, what will this gain me and will the tuner take care of any codes generated by removing the dpf and egr
3. Any reliability issues to address before going ahead with above modifications
4. How far can you work on the engine before having to pull the cab
5. How large of tires can you fit on them, plan on leveling the front end and adding a ranch hand bumper replacement grill guard and possibly rims when the go fast mods are done

Old 04-20-2014, 09:56 PM
parkland
Lead Driver
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
These things are no 7.3 ....

You need a programmer if you want to disable EGR or remove the DPF. Clearing codes won't cut it.

You shouldn't have to "address" anything, but if you run tunes to increase power, obviously things fail faster. That said, lots of guys are making huge power stock with head studs and exhaust.

Be aware these things are common rail and not really friendly for working on compared to a 7.3.

Old 04-21-2014, 06:30 AM
camocursion
New User
Kind of figured these would be a little harder to work on I have seen the mechanical nightmare evolution occur on the new farm equipment.

Old 04-21-2014, 10:35 AM
bubbasz1
Cargo Master
Originally Posted by camocursion