Notices
1987 - 1996 F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks 1987 - 1996 Ford F-150, F-250, F-350 and larger pickups - including the 1997 heavy-duty F250/F350+ trucks
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Can someone point me in the right direction

Search this Thread

Old 03-27-2014, 11:17 AM
Green Griffin 420
Senior User

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Can someone point me in the right direction

I'm thinking about doing an engine swap. I did a search for "engine swap" and didn't find the answers I was looking for.

What I have is a 94 F150 with factory MAF 5.0. I'm looking at swapping to a 5.8 from a salvage yard. From what I've read here that it's pretty much plug and play, but I'm a novice mechanic at best. I do my own maintenance, oil changes and such. I've swapped out accessories and I'm not a dumb azz.

What issues can I expect?

specific questions I have are;
1) with my 94 5.0 being MAF will the 5.8 need to be MAF or will my MAF work with the 5.8?
2) Will there be any connection to sensors or sensors themselves that will need to be changed?
3) will I need the ECU from the 5.8 or are they the same?
4)would it be a good idea to get the trans or would they be the same?

Thanks in advance for the help.

Old 03-27-2014, 02:24 PM
RIKIL
Posting Guru
Originally Posted by Green Griffin 420
I'm thinking about doing an engine swap. I did a search for "engine swap" and didn't find the answers I was looking for.

What I have is a 94 F150 with factory MAF 5.0. I'm looking at swapping to a 5.8 from a salvage yard. From what I've read here that it's pretty much plug and play, but I'm a novice mechanic at best. I do my own maintenance, oil changes and such. I've swapped out accessories and I'm not a dumb azz.

1) with my 94 5.0 being MAF will the 5.8 need to be MAF or will my MAF work with the 5.8?
2) Will there be any connection to sensors or sensors themselves that will need to be changed?