1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

How am I gonna fix this?

Search this Thread

Old 02-23-2014, 09:06 PM
fabieber
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
How am I gonna fix this?

This is the only spot on Floyd that is rusty but the rust continues inside to the floor pan. The cab mount is solid. The rust through area around it is very minimal.

When the fender was on the rusted area was not visible. Viewed from underneath someone had apparently took a wad of steel wool and the aerosol foam used to seal around pipes and filled the hole that goes through to the cab.

I have no body work experience so my questions are:
1. do I need to fix this if it is not visible and doesn't bother me?
2. if it is to be fixed is it regarded as a job that an inexperienced person can or should tackle?

Old 02-23-2014, 10:26 PM
dmack91
Elder User
I am a complete novice at body work, and my F1 was the first BW I have done. That being said, it is all dependent on what you are comfortable doing. It is generally a patch-together job. Break it down and go piece by piece.

One thing to keep in mind is what you can see is just the beginning when it comes to rust generally.

I am sure more experienced bodymen (meaning just about everyone else) will chime in.

Old 02-23-2014, 10:32 PM
frosh1
Freshman User
fabieber,
no sure where you live, but I'm assuming it's a drier climate if that all the rust your truck has accumulated in it's lifetime.
For my nickels worth (pennies don't exist in Canada anymore), at the very least I'd be tempted to neutralize existing rust and seal it. This can be accomplished with little body work experience and minimal cost.

First, I'd clean out whatever someone put in there to patch it, plus any dirt/debris that accumulated. Hopefully you don't find more damage than you expect.