6.7L Power Stroke Diesel 2011-current Ford Powerstroke 6.7 L turbo diesel engine

350 SRW - Convert to Dana 80 rear?

Search this Thread

Old 02-13-2014, 02:19 PM
kereams
Mountain Pass
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
350 SRW - Convert to Dana 80 rear?

Preface - I am an engineer and informed individual. Please do not turn this into a weight police conversation and lets keep it technical and on track please.

I have a 2011 F-350 Crew Cab 172.4" WB SRW 4x4 6.7L. It has the 3.55 Electronic Locking Axle. This is not my daily driver and rarely doesn't have my camper in the back. I go offroad and spend a lot of time in the snow. I currently had Benz Springs make me some beefier rear springs and I run on a 35" 14 ply tire setup on a 19.5" Rickson steel wheel.

I am toying with the idea of creating a full expedition vehicle with it. Think Earthroamer, Global Expedition Vehicles but on a smaller scale. As you can see these types of vehicles get rid of the DRW and go with a larger single custom rear wheel setup. I have been doing a lot of research and measuring on the delta between my truck and a F350 DRW. It appears that the front axle is the same, the frame is the same and the big difference is the rear axle and rear springs. It appears the spring mounting points are the same on the frame between the two models. The rear brakes are slightly different as well as the bolt pattern (8 x 200 on DRW).

I plan on upgrading the brakes front and rear to the 2013+ 14.29" setup front and rear.

How is the bolt pattern changed from 8x170 to 8x200 on the front of a dually? Is it just the spacers or is it a different hub/stud setup?