6.0L Power Stroke Diesel 2003 - 2007 F250, F350 pickup and F350+ Cab Chassis, 2003 - 2005 Excursion and 2003 - 2009 van

Tire questions....Opinions wanted...

Search this Thread

Old 02-12-2014, 08:21 PM
Restlesswildman
Posting Guru
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Tire questions....Opinions wanted...

Well it is that time for me to buy a set of tires for the EX. Since I have never owned a vehicle this heavy, I am looking for opinions on 2 tires from BFG/Michelin. I am a die hard BFG guy, I sold them years ago for a living. That being said Michelin gets tossed in there since Michelin owns BFG.

The 2 tires I am looking at are the time proven ALL Terrain and the new player for BFG..The Rugged Terrain.

Now the All Terrains are around a 40,000 mile tire and I know that as long as you have a sound suspension/alignment an rotate religiously, they will last. They however are not the quietest tire for highway driving. Which I do a lot of. But if I go hunting or if we have crappy weather like we have for almost 2 months they are the ones.

The Rugged Terrain supposedly have a 50,000 mile life, higher wear rating, MPG rating, but have a low rating for anything but highway driving. The tread pattern is one that I have never seen before.

Since I am on the fence about the Rugged Terrain's but am also leery of the ALL Terrains.

Pleas share your experiences on these 2 tires guys.

Old 02-12-2014, 09:12 PM
Per4mance
Logistics Pro
Received 20 Likes on 5 Posts
Cooper AT/3 is the way to go.good mileage,all terran,highway friendly and they won't break the bank. I have 2 trucks and both have them

Old 02-13-2014, 09:17 AM
Cowboy65
Elder User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I've run several sets of BFG All-Terrain T/A's and have always been happy with the mileage, traction, & ride as compared to similar tires.

Old 02-13-2014, 10:03 AM
mhoefer
Postmaster
Received 11 Likes on 10 Posts