1994.5 - 1997 7.3L Power Stroke Diesel  

E4OD to ZF5

Old 03-25-2014, 05:23 PM
DougJ_1997PSD
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
E4OD to ZF5

Hey guys, Im new to FTE, and Im considering getting rid of my recently rebuilt E4OD (1000-2000 miles on it) to a ZF5. What all do i need to do to the PCM and the truck to do this? and how easily will I be able to find the parts and do it? And how much will it cost? thanks guys!

Old 03-25-2014, 05:30 PM
fordpride
Post Fiend
Received 14 Likes on 12 Posts
It's best/cheaper to find a whole parts truck

Old 03-25-2014, 05:30 PM
fordpride
Post Fiend
Welcome to FTE !

Old 03-25-2014, 05:37 PM
tshrager
Lead Driver
Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Originally Posted by fordpride
It's best/cheaper to find a whole parts truck
Mike hit the nail on the head here. I wish I would have when I did mine. I had about 2700 in mine. However, I went with a very expensive clutch that was 1k alone with the SMF.

If you find the right parts truck for the right price, you won't have to get driveshaft(s) cut and you could probably make back most of the swap money by parting out the rig.

Oh and welcome to FTE!

Old 03-25-2014, 06:03 PM
ReBilld
Hotshot
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Originally Posted by DougJ_1997PSD
Hey guys, Im new to FTE, and Im considering getting rid of my recently rebuilt E4OD (1000-2000 miles on it) to a ZF5. What all do i need to do to the PCM and the truck to do this? and how easily will I be able to find the parts and do it? And how much will it cost? thanks guys!
Welcome to FTE! Like these guys said, a complete donor truck would be the way to go, but I know that's not always possible. I have done this swap many times, and here is a list of things you will need to make your truck look like it came from the factory with a ZF.

ZF trans
Solid flywheel and clutch kit
Clutch master and slave cylinders
ZF trans cross member from same cab configuration truck.