1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

New guy with 56 F250

Search this Thread

Old 01-31-2014, 09:35 AM
Fifty6F250
Freshman User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
New guy with 56 F250

I've been trolling around this forum for a couple years now, drooling over pics and sponging up knowledge as often as possible. Last weekend I finally snagged my first project! I'll get some pics put up this weekend, but overall I'm pleased with it...cab corners are good, running boards are solid, floors are mostly intact, 272 with the 4SYN, all the glass (except back window) is shattered, but what really bugs me is the original owners chopped the last foot off the bed/rear fenders (yes fenders that are now abruptly stopped and flat) just to weld a make-shift trailer receiver to the frame

Overall, it's in pretty good condition, at least compared to others I've looked at! The original owners were missionaries and the husband got killed in Africa so when the wife returned she put the truck on blocks in her garage and painted the entire thing silver? (windows included) where it sat for about 20 years for her to use as storage. I bought it from the 2nd owner who got it cranked about 6 years ago where it's been sitting since under a carport.

Money is obviously a limiting factor so this will be very gradual, but I do intend to replace the distributor/rotor, wires, plugs, etc. and get it to crank at some point in the next month. Sorry for the long post just felt the need to share the back story, and yes, there WILL be pics!

Look forward to the knowledge/friendship

-Mike

Old 01-31-2014, 09:45 AM
FortyNiner
Logistics Pro
Received 290 Likes on 168 Posts
Welcome Mike! Glad to have you. Sometimes all we can do is shake our collective heads over the choices our PO made. So, is your plan to just get her back on the road as is?

DW

Old 01-31-2014, 10:02 AM
Fifty6F250
Freshman User
Originally Posted by FortyNiner