1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

Stock Front end or IFS

Search this Thread

Old 01-30-2014, 11:34 PM
Izzie1701
Freshman User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Stock Front end or IFS

i am trying to keep my build as basic as possible and as budget friendly as possible. This is my first build and I have way more knowledge in engines then I do in suspensions. Here is my question. Will a rebuilt stock suspension handle a 302 with 380hp and 350ft.lbs of torque? Its not going to be an everyday driver but I will like to put 5000km or so on it a year. I don't need anything special and like the look of stock better but a buddy has me worried that it wont handle the power. What does everyone on here currently have and with how much power behind it.

Thank you,

Old 01-31-2014, 09:55 AM
Rimrock F1
Posting Guru
You should have plenty of reply's before long. The stock suspension that is good condition will work just fine. You need to make sure all bushings joints etc are in good shape. You should consider adding front disks with that much power. You should also consider upgraded steering, there should be someone stepping in with recommendations before long. As for me I'm installing comparable power to you and decided to go with IFS. I wanted to lower the truck some, truck will be a daily driver and I felt it was wort it to me to go to the extra expense. Good luck with your project.

Old 01-31-2014, 10:48 AM
Izzie1701
Freshman User
Sorry I should have mentioned that I would be going with a disk break conversion kit and probably getting the LMC front end lowering springs. I think they are supposed to lower it around 2-3". I live in Canada and we get ALOT of freeze thaw so our roads are TERRIBLE. Pot holes everywhere. If we drive anything thats closer then 3" to the ground we risk ripping the bottom of the truck off. I will also be ordering LMC's front end rebuild kit so all bushings, king pins, and joints will be replaced.