7.3 IDI with looped return...bubbles?

Search this Thread

Old 07-27-2015, 11:18 PM
zamboni
5th Wheeling
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
7.3 IDI with looped return...bubbles?

I'm new to burning SVO, and have about 6k miles on veg. oil in my 1991 F250. I'm trying to figure out if the looped return i built is workable, or if only a return-to-tank system is suitable for the 7.3 IDI.

I've noticed bubbles coming from the injector return lines (clear tubing), and going back to the SVO fuel filter in the looped return. Lacking an air vent on that filter head, the bubbles eventually end up in the feed to the IP (about 10 min. at 2k RPM). The bubbles happen both on SVO and diesel, but of course on diesel the return goes back to the tank so any bubbles are purged by the tank vent.

I didn't have any fuel leaks at the injectors, but i replaced the injector caps and o-rings, thinking maybe they were admitting air. I see no reduction in return-line bubbles after doing that work. It usually takes about 5 min. at idle before they appear.

Does anyone know if small bubbles in the injector return lines are just normal for this engine? I'd like to know if i mucked up the injector cap replacement or am just totally wrong about bubbles. I have just un-done the looped return and run line back to the tank, because i need to use the truck. The return-to-tank setup works fine.

Thanks for any insights!

Old 03-28-2016, 12:30 AM
speedwrench72
Posting Guru
Received 1 Like on 1 Post