WMO/clean unused oil ...

Search this Thread

Old 01-30-2014, 11:20 PM
joshofalltrades
Postmaster
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Macrobb
Yup; works fine. Just got to take a look at the lever and see where it should be compared to the springed-slidey-thing in the top of the pump, such that when the lever is pulled 'on' it doesn't interfere, and when it is off, it pushes against said slidey-thing. Easier done than said.
yes, easier done than said. after reading tons of posts on the subject, it scared the hell out of me to even think about putting that cover on by myself, even though i'm a mechanic full time. i inspected the hell out of it to make sure that it just pushes on the arm like that, nothing complicated at all. easy to do right, but better be sure you're doing it right

Old 02-08-2014, 10:47 PM
speedwrench72
Posting Guru
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
I have mixed 60% virgin motor oil, and or ATF with #2 and 5% RUG with out a problem, in a stock fuel system, to 32* but no colder went back to pure #2 for the winter. the IdI will run on mineral oil,(Suntan lotion) in a pinch.

Old 02-08-2014, 10:57 PM
joshofalltrades
Postmaster
Originally Posted by speedwrench72
I have mixed 60% virgin motor oil, and or ATF with #2 and 5% RUG with out a problem, in a stock fuel system, to 32* but no colder went back to pure #2 for the winter. the IdI will run on mineral oil,(Suntan lotion) in a pinch.
i got in trouble a few days ago trying to start on 75% WMO 25% #2 when the temp dropped to about 25. wore the batteries down and couldn't quite get it to come to life before work. got it to life that evening with fully charged batteries and a temp around 35, switched the mix to about 50/50 and all is well again, cold starts are only a few seconds of cranking, and i can switch to the 75% tank for all but startups and shutdowns. these darn things will run on just about anything, and i'm loving it!

Old 02-14-2014, 10:14 PM
d-day
Elder User