Notices
1987 - 1996 F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks 1987 - 1996 Ford F-150, F-250, F-350 and larger pickups - including the 1997 heavy-duty F250/F350+ trucks
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

91 f250 4x4 question

Search this Thread

Old 11-30-2013, 09:35 PM
Alpha Lima Romeo
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
91 f250 4x4 question

hi
I'm new to the forum and ford trucks (dad has a 62 but i have only driven it never worked on it). So i just got a 1991 f250 4x4 long bed with the 351w and a 4 speed auto. My buddy (who has an 87 f150) was looking and when I'm in 2 high with the hubs unlocked the front drive shaft is still engaged. I'm new to 4x4 so i don't know if this is normal or not. It is also hard to get the transfer case into neutral and back. When i drive the truck shutters. The past owner said he thought it was the transmission but never looked into it. Now I was wondering if this was a transfer case issue with this model or what it could be. 2 High works great though.
Thanks for any responses.

Old 12-01-2013, 12:18 AM
kermmydog
Post Fiend
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Your not in 2wd. If the hubs are unlocked then the transfer case is in 4wd.

Old 12-01-2013, 04:22 AM
Alpha Lima Romeo
New User
so if its in 2H and the hubs are set to free its still in 4 wheel? this is my first 4x4 so please bear with me.

Old 12-01-2013, 07:40 AM
tjc transport
i ain't rite
Received 3,101 Likes on 2,163 Posts
the front driveshaft can still turn when everything is in 2 wheel drive.
to test if the hubs and transfer case are indeed in 2 wheel, engine off. trans in park. t-case in 2 wheel. hubs unlocked.
get under truck and try to turn front driveshaft. if it turns, it is in 2 wheel drive.

if the drive shaft does not turn, jack up a front wheel and turn the wheel. if it turns, the hub is unlocked. do this for both wheels. if they are both unlocked and turn, the problem is in the transfer case.

Old 12-01-2013, 07:48 AM
Bad Bad Leroy Brown
Elder User
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Not
Good!