Notices
1987 - 1996 F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks 1987 - 1996 Ford F-150, F-250, F-350 and larger pickups - including the 1997 heavy-duty F250/F350+ trucks
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

'95 F150 5.0 to 5.8 Swap Questions

Search this Thread

Old 11-30-2013, 01:44 AM
1BAD954x4
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
'95 F150 5.0 to 5.8 Swap Questions

Hey all,

New here so let me begin by introducing myself. I'm a freshman in college for auto restoration in McPherson,KS. I own a 95 f150 4x4 thats been my baby for the last 2 years and i absolutely love these trucks. As much time and money as ive put into her i could be driving a much newer truck but i intend to keep this truck till the day i die. Bought her bone stock and have been modifying as money allows. Did the paint and body work myself as well as a 4" suspension lift and alot of minor mechanical repairs along the way.

Now, the current issue i'm having with the truck is she's underpowered and tired. The stock 5.0 has been ran pretty hard and combined with the lousy 3.08 gears, it doesnt get anywhere in a hurry.

My plan was originally to build and upgrade the 5.0 but after doing some research and with the input of my mechanic friends, i'm leaning towards a 5.8 swap.

Here are my questions.
-Am i going to need to swap computers in order to get the most out of the 5.8?

-What kind of wiring harness modifications will be neccesary?

-I have an AOD tranny currently. I am aware it will need upgraded to handle the added power, but is this trans even compatible with the 5.8 setup? or should i go ahead and swap to an E4OD?

-My plans are to completely rebuild the 5.8 and add a more aggressive cam along with longtube headers and possibly larger injectors. Advice on cams or what to do on a budget to get the most out of this engine?

-Lastly, gears? i plan on bumping up to 35s eventually, so would 4:10s be my best bet?

Thanks, Matt.

Also heres a picture of her! if it works anyway.