Sponsored by: DP Tuner

Rough idle, stalls when braking and steering at low speeds when warm

Search this Thread

Old 11-23-2013, 08:29 AM
justenuf2b
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Rough idle, stalls when braking and steering at low speeds when warm

I'm having a problem with my 1999 F-350 7.3L Diesel XLT 4WD (no mods) with approximately 45,000 miles. I'm new to working on engines, and have mostly done routine maintenance, including brake pads, oil, and swapping out alternators, starts, etc, but not much in the way of diagnosing engine operation. I'm new to FTE and have been looking around for a situation which matches mine, but haven't found any that are an obvious match. There is a huge amount of information on this site, and I've really learned a lot about how my truck works -- thank you.

Condition happens when truck is warm (having been driven for 10-15 minutes). Symptoms include:
  • Rough idle / stall when applying brakes -- coming up to stoplights, stop signs. Especially noticeable when idling downhill and -- this happens practically every time I drive the truck since my house is downhill from the driveway. I can sometimes get around this by pushing accelerator with right foot to get RPMs up while in neutral while braking with left.
  • Slowing down at idle and turning steering wheel -- is the power steering driven by vacuum system?
  • I did have a no start issue last weekend (which was the first time) when I had tried to start the truck after letting it sit overnight, but most other times, when it's cold, the truck will start fine.
  • I've posted this video which shows the rough idle and lurching in gear.

I do not drive very often -- mostly for hauling lumber, firewood, equipment
I've observed that the vacuum pump seems to run a long time (about a minute), even if it had just been driven previous day (how long should the vacuum system hold pressure?

Activities performed
  • Swapped out CPS (crankshaft position sensor)