5TH wheel hitches----Reese VS B+W

Search this Thread

Old 08-27-2013, 10:21 PM
Ferguson65
Logistics Pro
Received 200 Likes on 85 Posts
5TH wheel hitches----Reese VS B+W

Looking to updgrade from my current "redneck" toyhauler to a real toyhauler in the near future. I have the factory prep package installed in my truck. While I've done plenty of towing with a gooseneck, I'm totally new to 5th wheels.

I did a search but didn't come up with much feedback on the B+W hitch for the factory prep package. Anybody using one? Any benefit of the two jaws, VS the single jaw on the Reese? The single seems to have less margin for failure. I'm up in the air on which way to go, I can get either one within $50 of the other. As far as adjustability goes, is more better? I was thinking of going with the reese 25k, but then saw it loses 1.5" of adjustability over the 18K.

We will only be looking at smaller toyhaulers, I'd like to keep it at 34-36 feet, and tandem axles, not looking to get into any trailers past 14k GVWR, so the 25k would be overkill, but would allow me to use the truck to it's full potential (22,800) if need be.

Old 08-27-2013, 11:14 PM
r2millers
Postmaster

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Reese 16k hitch

I can only speak for my Reese but very happy with my 16k unit. We pull a 32' toy trailer, triple axle with a 15,500 gvwr.
It's a dbl jaw unit and a slider, even though not necessary with my long bed, it sure helps when able to move back in maneuvering position. Very well built.
For what you sound like pulling, 25k sounds way too much more than needed.

Old 08-27-2013, 11:51 PM
P.Bronner
Elder User
Received 1 Like on 1 Post