6.0L Power Stroke Diesel 2003 - 2007 F250, F350 pickup and F350+ Cab Chassis, 2003 - 2005 Excursion and 2003 - 2009 van

Oil Leak Troubleshooting

Search this Thread

Old 07-14-2013, 06:37 PM
675doug
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Oil Leak Troubleshooting

First, I have been searching and reading for hours. That doesn't mean I didn't miss something, but trust me, I've looked. Second, I really appreciate all of the awesome contributors that make this site such a great resource. I've been using it for three years now and pretty much never have to ask questions as all of the information is here. Third, she's an '05 (6.0) with about 130,000 miles.

I have an engine oil leak that is dripping about one drop per second from the rear passenger side of the motor, right where it meets the tranny. I've read the threads about common leaks and I'm somewhat mechanically inclined (although most of my experience comes from helicopters). While I've had a hard time getting a clear view of the Crankshaft Position Sensor, it appears that the leak is originating on the top of the motor and seeping down the back right. The CPS seems to be further forward than any of the oil.

There is oil all over the deck behind the oil filter. The EOT is wet, but does not seem to be visibly leaking and certainly not at the rate of the leak I'm looking for. The same seems to be true for the gasket under the oil filter housing. The CAC tube going into the turbo is not wet. So, I'm thinking that either the turbo is leaking or the oil return line from the turbo is leaking. I can't get an inspection mirror in there to save my life and I don't know a lot about turbo chargers other than the simple principals of operation.

My questions are:

1. Does anyone see anything obvious that I'm missing?

2. Any suggestions on leak checking this area? Where to start, likely problems on an '05?