1980 - 1986 Bullnose F100, F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Early Eighties Bullnose Ford Truck

Can't turn key back after gets to point where electrical turns on

Old 06-25-2013, 10:17 PM
LiNkZoR
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Can't turn key back after gets to point where electrical turns on

Alright, so I got this 1986 F250 XLT automatic transmission, gas fuel from our neighbors. Hasn't had a problem with getting the key out, except for maybe once but it came out my second try. So, when i turn the key forward, you get to the point where the electrical in the truck starts, and if you go any further the engine starts (There is probably a lot more complex things that go on that I don't know about, but i'm a novice at these types of things and don't know much about the names. I couldn't find out how to turn the brights off, since all I've ever drove before this was my parents newer cars that didn't have the floor button. But, i found out what that silver thing did on the floor, and how to set presets on the radio that day.)

So, once it gets to that point, the key will NOT turn back, and if the engine is started it won't stop the engine, if it is anything else other than reverse. Won't turn backwards in park, neutral, drive, second or first. Only reverse. So, to stop the engine, I have to put it into reverse, turn the key far enough for the engine to stop, then put it in park to get it the rest of the way out. I would also like to point out that it seems to idle at a fairly high RPM, but it has since the day we first started it.

So... Could anyone be able to enlighten me on why I can't turn the key backwards in anything other than reverse?
Thanks

Old 06-26-2013, 07:57 AM
Gary Lewis
Posting Legend
Received 26 Likes on 24 Posts
Just some thoughts, but no answers. Does it help if you turn the wheel slightly as you turn the key back? Do you have a tilt steering wheel? And is it really right in Reverse or is it biased toward Park?

Old 06-26-2013, 09:03 PM