Pre-Power Stroke Diesel (7.3L IDI & 6.9L) Diesel Topics Only

1991 idi banks sidewinder low boost

Search this Thread

Old 05-22-2013, 11:13 AM
wagners
Mountain Pass
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1991 idi banks sidewinder low boost

my son has a 1991 f350 crew cab with a banks sidewinder that was installed in 1995. we went to put gauges in it this weekend and the boost gauge will only read a max of 3lbs under the heaviest acceleration.

I am new to turbos so I am not sure if thats all it should be getting or do we need to make some adjustments. The first thing we did was to tighten the smaller tube from the air box to the turbo but the bigger inlet is a rubber elbow and looks a little worn. We are thinking of replacing that just under the assumption that an air leak in the system would effect the boost pressure. Again just an assumption.

I have read that the waste gate may need adjusted but we don't see an obvious waste gate, could there not be one on a banks this old? This motor is old and original, drips a little oil and it is his first truck so we are not going to make it a performance truck just want to work out the bugs as best we can and make it a little cooler. So what I was hoping was for someone to educate me a bit on turbos and if the 3lbs is as good as I should expect on something of this age and mileage 173000.

Old 05-22-2013, 01:00 PM
tjc transport
i ain't rite
Received 3,101 Likes on 2,163 Posts
if the filter is a giant box that covers almost the top of the engine, that is a first generation non wastegated turbo.
3 lbs is about all you will see unless you put a heavy load in the bed.

with no muffler(straight pipe exhaust) and towing a 22,000 lb load, i would regularly see 15+ lbs boost.
but empty and regular driving 3-5 lbs boost is about all i will see.

Old 05-22-2013, 06:35 PM
whiteboyslo
Posting Guru