1997 F250 LD Instrument Cluster Swap For One With Tach? - Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums



1997 - 2003 F150 1997-2003 F150, 1997-1999 F250LD, 7700 & 2004 F150 Heritage

1997 F250 LD Instrument Cluster Swap For One With Tach?

Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 03-15-2013, 12:58 PM
TrdLtly's Avatar
TrdLtly TrdLtly is offline
Posting Guru
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: NE, Iowa
Posts: 1,608
TrdLtly has a superb reputationTrdLtly has a superb reputationTrdLtly has a superb reputationTrdLtly has a superb reputationTrdLtly has a superb reputationTrdLtly has a superb reputationTrdLtly has a superb reputationTrdLtly has a superb reputationTrdLtly has a superb reputationTrdLtly has a superb reputationTrdLtly has a superb reputation
1997 F250 LD Instrument Cluster Swap For One With Tach?

I have a 1997 F250 LD "base" auto 4x4 with only 96k mi on it. I want to upgrade the factory instrument cluster/gauges/speedometer to one with a tachometer. My local wrecking yard has several with tach for only $35. That is a cheap upgrade if it is possible.

It is my understanding that the 1997-1998 are easy (no PATS), but I have failed to find anyone that has done it or documented it.

The other thing is how can I match the mileage or run it back to match my truck odometer?

Thanks guys....
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-16-2013, 11:04 AM
Supercab Supercab is offline
Postmaster
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Palm Bay, Florida
Posts: 4,699
Supercab has a very good reputation on FTE.Supercab has a very good reputation on FTE.Supercab has a very good reputation on FTE.Supercab has a very good reputation on FTE.
I wish I truely knew about your '97.

I did this swap on my '94 OBS a few years back and was told the wires are already there and it was a plug n play deal on THAT truck.

I got a tach cluster and just took both the old and new apart and swapped my speedo into the new cluster, put the new cluster into my truck and the tach worked perfectly!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-16-2013, 05:36 PM
TrdLtly's Avatar
TrdLtly TrdLtly is offline
Posting Guru
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: NE, Iowa
Posts: 1,608
TrdLtly has a superb reputationTrdLtly has a superb reputationTrdLtly has a superb reputationTrdLtly has a superb reputationTrdLtly has a superb reputationTrdLtly has a superb reputationTrdLtly has a superb reputationTrdLtly has a superb reputationTrdLtly has a superb reputationTrdLtly has a superb reputationTrdLtly has a superb reputation
Quote:
Originally Posted by Supercab View Post
I wish I truely knew about your '97.

I did this swap on my '94 OBS a few years back and was told the wires are already there and it was a plug n play deal on THAT truck.

I got a tach cluster and just took both the old and new apart and swapped my speedo into the new cluster, put the new cluster into my truck and the tach worked perfectly!
Thanks for the input Supercab. Looks like I will just have to spend the $35 and find out. Car-parts.com shows it as being compatible. Yes I will make sure I get pictures. Now to find one with similar mileage as my odometer is showing.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-18-2013, 04:02 AM
Supercab Supercab is offline
Postmaster
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Palm Bay, Florida
Posts: 4,699
Supercab has a very good reputation on FTE.Supercab has a very good reputation on FTE.Supercab has a very good reputation on FTE.Supercab has a very good reputation on FTE.
You are welcome. I still think you can swap your speedo/odo into the new tach cluster.
I am not familliar with the '97 cluster layout....my neighbor has a '99 and I'm pretty sure that IT has a tach.
In any case I am reasonably sure that the odo CAN be reset....
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-18-2013, 06:40 AM
TrdLtly's Avatar
TrdLtly TrdLtly is offline
Posting Guru
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: NE, Iowa
Posts: 1,608
TrdLtly has a superb reputationTrdLtly has a superb reputationTrdLtly has a superb reputationTrdLtly has a superb reputationTrdLtly has a superb reputationTrdLtly has a superb reputationTrdLtly has a superb reputationTrdLtly has a superb reputationTrdLtly has a superb reputationTrdLtly has a superb reputationTrdLtly has a superb reputation
I am just really surprised that no one has commented that they have done it or seen it done on a '97 or '98 F150 or F250LD. This thread has over 100 views and no one has upgraded their factory instrument cluster? Wow. I have seen were others have had PATS problems and had to replace their cluster, but no one voluntarily replaced theirs it appears.

I will call a knowledgeable wrecking yard today to see what I can find out.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-02-2014, 01:35 PM
kdwellssr's Avatar
kdwellssr kdwellssr is offline
Senior User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 160
kdwellssr is starting off with a positive reputation.
What did you find out about your speedo issue. I have a 98 F250 LD and the odometer has quit. I'm considering the tack as a option. Also wondering if the truck you remove the speedo from must have 4x4 in order to have the 4x4 dash lights work properly on mine? Any info you get on this?
Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
instrument cluster Rooster1982 1987 - 1996 F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks 8 01-02-2017 01:11 PM
Instrument cluster 73effie 1987 - 1996 F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks 1 11-20-2016 07:30 PM
Instrument cluster interchangeability...? 12valveEx 1987 - 1996 F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks 1 08-02-2015 08:07 PM
Looking for a 1980-1986 Diesel Instrument Cluster w/ Tach roscofan93 1980 - 1986 Bullnose F100, F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks 10 07-08-2013 12:44 AM
Insrument cluster swap watermanh Electrical Systems/Wiring 1 03-20-2005 12:11 AM


Go Back   Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums >

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:12 PM.