1999 - 2003 7.3L Power Stroke Diesel  
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DP Tuner

Help - About to buy E350 Diesel. What should I check?

Search this Thread

Old 01-31-2013, 08:18 AM
JMP E350
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Help - About to buy E350 Diesel. What should I check?

Ok So I am new to diesel but I need a work truck and have been looking at these for a while. I want diesel so it can haul my trailer easier and they run forever.

The Van is a 2000 E350 powerstroke diesel with 156k.

I have never owned a diesel before so i need to know whats important to check!
I have looked at it once already and it starts right up, no smoke, idles nice, drives OK, feels like its lacking power put I have never drove a diesel before.
It could also just be because of a high gear ratio in the rear end... ?

My biggest concern is the trans.. It feels OK NOW.. but how long will it last and how big is the cost to rebuild ?!?!

Also what are big expense items ?
Are all powerstroke motors turbo? Not sure if I could hear or see the turbo..
Glow plugs ?
odd pumps?

It was a city municipal truck.. hopefully they did important maintenance! Someone installed a hour meter on it.. I'm hoping this is a good thing.

Did a code scan, abs code came up but I don't care about that.
No info on VIN scan. Probably cause it was a city vehicle.

Any info is much appreciated ! Thanks

Old 01-31-2013, 09:07 AM
JMP E350
Senior User
Nothing ?
Ill be on here all day researching so feel free to chime in!

Old 01-31-2013, 09:18 AM
Kdr358
Postmaster
Received 1 Like on 1 Post