1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

1948 F2 restore or modify?

Search this Thread

Old 01-22-2013, 08:04 PM
kcjskramer
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1948 F2 restore or modify?

Hello,

I am new to FTE and would like some input from others. I have a 1948 F2 being delivered this weekend. It was refreshed in 2001 and is now in need for a thorough rebuild.

It is a 4 speed flathead V8 from the factory. The whole truck is there - the only thing missing is the F2 badges that mount just to the rear of the front fenders.

My question is - restore it to factory or modify it with new running gear? I want to use it and even tow a ski boat to our local lake. I think the gearing would sustain it but I know the driving experience is not as safe as a modern suspension and running gear. The nostalgia of the original is really appealing.

Thoughts?

Old 01-22-2013, 08:28 PM
Gicknordon
Fleet Mechanic
Received 70 Likes on 36 Posts
If its all there and in decent shape i would just keep it mostly original and just make it safe to drive.

Old 01-22-2013, 08:34 PM
South of BC
Elder User
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Welcome to the forum. Of course we'd like to see some pictures, upload some to Photobucket and paste the links here. Your question is one of personal choice, there isn't right or wrong. Personally, I love them the way they were made. I would keep it stock, other than upgrades to the brakes which won't detract from the original appearance.

Old 01-22-2013, 08:37 PM
underthebridgejim
FTE fan
Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts
Originally Posted by Gicknordon
If its all there and in decent shape i would just keep it mostly original and just make it safe to drive.
I agree, do you still have the power stroke? you could use it to pull your boat.

Old 01-22-2013, 08:43 PM
ZOOT
Elder User
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts