1999 to 2016 Super Duty 1999 to 2016 Ford F250, F350, F450 and F550 Super Duty with diesel V8 and gas V8 and V10 engines
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

New to Ford, need ESOF explained!

Search this Thread

Old 01-19-2013, 06:56 PM
arellialloy
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
New to Ford, need ESOF explained!

Upgraded from Tundra so I'm new to superduty. This may sound stupid but can someone explain ESOF to me so I don't break the truck the first month I own it? It has stock manual hubs with lock/auto. My dumb questions are...

If I manually lock the hubs and don't switch the ESOF to 4wd, am I not in 4wd? Also, I was told that in auto hub mode and switched to 4wd that the tires are not locked equally like with an E-locker? The same person told me that if I manually lock the hubs that it is equal to an E-locker.

I honestly think my friend is mistaken and confused me more than before I had asked him. Thanks for the help!

Old 01-19-2013, 09:44 PM
rollerstud98
Postmaster

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Your friend is confused. The ESOF engages the transfer case and auto hubs, if you lock the hubs in all that is doing is locking the hubs with the truck remaining in 2 wheel drive. Newer superduty trucks have the e-locking rear diff option, to engage that you just pull the 4x4 selection **** out, don't need to engage 4x4 I don't think.

The following users liked this post:
Old 01-19-2013, 09:45 PM
kawcrasher
Elder User
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
In auto the hubs work automatically.

In lock the hubs are locked and everything is turning. You are still not in 4wd unless the t-case in 4wd. Locking the hubs manually has nothing to do with torque bias. That is all handled in the front diff.

Manually locked hubs are stronger then when auto locked. It also provides a back-up if the ESOF hub fails.

Old 01-19-2013, 11:17 PM
CuNmUdF250
Posting Guru
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
I like how you said "upgraded from Tundra" we love you already

The following users liked this post: