Large Truck My truck is bigger than yours. The forum for 2+ ton trucks (all years), COE's, Louisville's, Big-Job's etc.

F600: Best way to drive? Plus exciting axle/power issues.

Search this Thread

Old 12-11-2012, 01:31 PM
DarkEuphoria
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
F600: Best way to drive? Plus exciting axle/power issues.

Hi there!

I have an '88 F600, with a 14 ft. box on the back. All opinions on the truck aside (yes, it has Lucas-Girling brakes), I'm new to driving such a beast and don't have too much experience with manual transmissions in general. I'm looking for some advice on the best way to drive it, both loaded and unloaded.

It has a 5 speed Eaton Fuller transmission, (reverse is front left), and 6.6 New Holland Engine. It also has a single speed rear. I'm know better than to expect this thing to go very fast; I just expect it to chug along till I get it where I'm going.

My understanding is as follows, please correct me if I'm wrong:

Starting in 2nd is just fine when not on an incline. If I'm on an uphill grade (especially when loaded down), I should be starting in 1st.

I should be looking to switch gears at about 2000 rpm.

Do I need to worry about downshifting on hills (especially at highway speeds)? What should I do different based on how much I'm hauling?

*Update* I believe I'm also having a fuel issue. The truck is having trouble climbing hills, no matter what gear it is in. I just the truck recently, and it had diesel in the tank. I have no idea how long it's been in there, so I'm going to drain some off the bottom as a first step.

The air cleaner is super clean, looks almost new. I have also changed the fuel filters.

And advice is surely appreciated.

Old 12-11-2012, 08:05 PM
1969furd
Senior User
ok i can hellp you will need to double clutch that transmission. to do so this is how its done,
press in clutch move stick from 2nd to N, release clutch, depress clutch move stick into 3rd relase clutch