1967 - 1972 F-100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Bumpsides Ford Truck

Headers for a 2wd camper special.

Search this Thread

Old 11-14-2012, 12:24 AM
Animal28
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Headers for a 2wd camper special.

I am trying to find the right headers for my 2wd camper special. Most of the headers I am looking at are either not comparable with the camper special front sway bar or the camper special gas tanks. Has anyone found headers for the 2wd camper specials? If so I need advice.

Old 11-14-2012, 04:31 AM
1949f1
Fleet Mechanic
Received 373 Likes on 160 Posts
over the 18 years i have had mine, i have never seen any for are camper specials. both of my ex. pipes go down the right side then they split back to each side after the rear tank

Old 11-14-2012, 04:58 AM
Corkwheats
Mountain Pass
Howdy,

I'm a total newbie, and don't know much. But, I've been doing tons of research on this very issue.

I was attempting to find headers for my 71 Ford Ranger XLT w/360. They all pretty much said "NO WAY" with the Camper Special Aux. Gas Tank. Also - apparently with the C-6 Transmission, you gotta do some tweaking on the linkage.

So, I decided to go with just a straight (true) dual exhaust using 2.5" pipe, and low restriction cherry bomb mufflers. There's a local guy that'll do it for a total of $350.

Anyways - you bring up a good question, and I was wondering about this.....will my Camper Special Gas Tank (Drivers Side) be a problem for just this standard type of dual exhaust? The thing isn't even hooked up - do I need to yank it before the muffler shop guy puts in my dual exhaust???

I'd appreciate any thoughts.

Thanks,
Bob

Old 11-14-2012, 09:38 AM
HIO Silver
Post Fiend
Received 58 Likes on 48 Posts
I suggest swapping to the 73-79 sway bar which mounts forward of the wheels. Still, the driver's side header will likely need a crossover tube to have both pipes run parallel to the right frame rail to avoid the trans linkage and inboard fuel tank.