Notices

59 F100 fuse box

 
  #1  
Old 10-14-2012, 11:01 PM
mtdorf
mtdorf is offline
Freshman User
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Billings, MT
Posts: 34
mtdorf is starting off with a positive reputation.
59 F100 fuse box

Does a 59 F100 have a fuse box? If so, where is it located? i can't seem to find it.

Thanks for your time and responses.


WD
 
  #2  
Old 10-15-2012, 06:30 AM
Franklin2's Avatar
Franklin2
Franklin2 is online now
Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: New Market, VA
Posts: 43,579
Franklin2 has a brilliant futureFranklin2 has a brilliant futureFranklin2 has a brilliant futureFranklin2 has a brilliant futureFranklin2 has a brilliant futureFranklin2 has a brilliant futureFranklin2 has a brilliant futureFranklin2 has a brilliant futureFranklin2 has a brilliant futureFranklin2 has a brilliant futureFranklin2 has a brilliant future
I know my 53 didn't. Here's a 59 car diagram, and it doesn't either. It has fuses sprinkled here and there throughout the harness.

http://www.oldcarmanualproject.com/t...re5765-199.jpg
 
  #3  
Old 10-16-2012, 09:05 AM
mtdorf
mtdorf is offline
Freshman User
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Billings, MT
Posts: 34
mtdorf is starting off with a positive reputation.
Thanks the diagram helped alot, didn't know about that website...great info. I have printed it and will begin the wonderful job of tracking down the wiring issue. Have you put in a new harness in your 53 to include a fuse box? If so, how difficult is it to get everything rewired?

Thanks
 
  #4  
Old 10-16-2012, 06:55 PM
Franklin2's Avatar
Franklin2
Franklin2 is online now
Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: New Market, VA
Posts: 43,579
Franklin2 has a brilliant futureFranklin2 has a brilliant futureFranklin2 has a brilliant futureFranklin2 has a brilliant futureFranklin2 has a brilliant futureFranklin2 has a brilliant futureFranklin2 has a brilliant futureFranklin2 has a brilliant futureFranklin2 has a brilliant futureFranklin2 has a brilliant futureFranklin2 has a brilliant future
I re-wired my 53 myself(made my own harness). I went along the same theme as the original harness, which had only 2 main circuit breakers. I didn't do a lot of electrical add-ons, I just changed it to 12 volts, added turnsignals, and a more modern engine and tranny, but it still had points ignition. I didn't feel the need to add a fuse box, but if I did, I think I would buy one of those small ones you can get in the parts stores on the shelf that holds about 5 or 6 fuses. Unless you are going to add a lot of modern power accessories, that should be enough. If it's not, you can add another one to get 10 or 12 fuses.

If you do not feel like making your own harness, they have them with the fuse box included, but you will still have to decide what switches you are going to use, what steering column, what charging system, what ignition system, and adapt these harnesses to work. That's why I just built my own.
 
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Jsek
1957 - 1960 F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks
2
02-22-2017 04:23 PM
jamhh
1957 - 1960 F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks
2
09-17-2016 01:59 PM
Curford
1957 - 1960 F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks
3
07-18-2016 11:41 AM
slayercr23
1980 - 1986 Bullnose F100, F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks
1
10-15-2009 08:00 PM
tx64f100tx
1961 - 1966 F-100 & Larger F-Series Trucks
3
02-20-2006 05:10 AM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: 59 F100 fuse box


Contact Us - About Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.