1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

vacuum gauge diagnosis of flathead

Search this Thread

Old 09-08-2012, 04:31 PM
medctr1
Freshman User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Lightbulb vacuum gauge diagnosis of flathead

I've been advised it would be good to start a thread on this,so here goes. Thank you to everyone that gave me direction.
Anyway, I'm a newbie and just installed a vacuum gauge (via wiper vacuum hose) to see if it would give me more information on my 1950 V8 flathead that has great compression in six cylinders. Too bad it has 8 .
cylinders 5&6 are low...about 50psi. I splashed oil into those cylinders with no increase in compression. My manual oil compression gauge reads 45-50 cold, 35 or so once warmed up and 25 at idle.This engine has been running about a 1000miles per year over the last dozen or so.
So the vacuum readings.....pretty steady at 18... if I give it a good rev it spikes 4-25 ( if I remember correctly)before going back to 18. I have looked at various charts but so far I don't read the vacuum gauge doing anything that resembles burnt valves or a bad head gasket. Maybe it takes a little more experience to read these vacuum gauges correctly.

Old 09-08-2012, 08:19 PM
52 Merc
Hotshot
Received 2,449 Likes on 1,396 Posts
Reading a vacuum gauge and using it as a tuning tool certainly isn't rocket science. It's the way cars were tuned before we had rocket scientists. So it shouldn't take a whole lot to learn how to read it. Having a steady reading of 18hg is pretty good, and the fluxuation you experienced when blipping the throttle is perfectly normal. Here's a pretty good web page with good instructions on what you need to know.

Classic Inlines - Tuning with a Vacuum Gage

Old 09-08-2012, 09:09 PM
ALBUQ F-1
Fleet Owner
Received 607 Likes on 377 Posts
What's the history of the engine? Any sign of a rebuild in its past, sounds like not in 12 years at least?