How to make my truck run on vegetable oil

Search this Thread

Old 12-30-2011, 01:36 PM
jack.dubord
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
How to make my truck run on vegetable oil

Hi I'm kind of new to the site still had other questions a few months ago and everyone on here is very help full and I'm thankful for that. On that note I have a new interest bio fuel. i have a 1997 obs five speed 7.3l and i would like to know some methods of how to convert my truck to run vegetable oil. Well canola oil to be exact. Can i buy a kit to install on my truck or can i make fuel and leave the truck alone if so any help on where to get product or kits would be great.
thank-you

Old 12-30-2011, 02:00 PM
binuya
Fleet Mechanic

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
There are a few forum members here who run SVO successfully, and hopefully they'll chime in. I make biodiesel so I am no expert on running SVO but know that properly done, you need to have a heated system and two tanks. (And a consistent source of vegetable oil)

Here's a link to where quite a few people have success with SVO:
Forums
(Be prepared to do a lot of reading and searching)

Old 01-03-2012, 09:19 AM
kirkharrod
Elder User
Before you convert, make sure that you can get veggie oil and can dewater and filter it. And that your family can deal with the mess. I would recommend collecting and filtering several hundred gallons first.

Old 03-05-2012, 09:35 PM
finitetime
Senior User
buy a kit to install on your truck or make your own as i did.
You can do either.
Google wvo conversion and you will get a dozen sites selling you conversion kits or the supplies to make bio

Old 03-06-2012, 07:47 AM
AlbyVA
Senior User