1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

Adding AC to 1950 F1 Flathead

Search this Thread

Old 07-31-2012, 09:14 PM
1950F1WNC
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Adding AC to 1950 F1 Flathead

Hey guys, I'm new to the show here, but have been reading the various threads for months. I am in the process of putting my 1950 F1 back togeother. Looking to add AC to the truck, but concerned about the old Flathead overheating. The past 6 months I have been driving the truck around town without any issues. Just wondering if I need to add electric fan to the system. Looking at purchasing the Southern Air Superfrost Kit from Southern Rods and Parts. Any tips would be much appreciated. Adam

Old 07-31-2012, 10:18 PM
BigPigDaddy
Cargo Master
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
I can't offer any info about the A/C, but I will say Welcome!

Got any pics of your truck?

Old 07-31-2012, 11:10 PM
ALBUQ F-1
Fleet Owner
Received 607 Likes on 377 Posts
Welcome!

Adding a compressor to a flathead generally means some kind of serpentine belt system for everything on the engine, you can guess it's not cheap. But it can be done without, just not easy. (The one on the left looks certain to break the end of the manifold off) A viable alternative may be in the wings tho, electric motor-driven compressors. You'd for sure need an alternator to drive one, but they can be mounted pretty much anywhere, and no belts needed. Alternators are easy by comparison.

If you have a good radiator (clean), and the block cooling system is clean, the truck fan should be adequate to cool it with A/C, but for sure you'll want to have the shroud in place.

Attached Images   
Old 07-31-2012, 11:15 PM
fixnair
Posting Guru
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Yeah, welcome to this forum. Lots of info here by some really smart ppl. I'm in the process of building a '52 F1 with a flathead V8 and am intersted in this thread.