Sponsored by: Moser

overheating 75 supercab

Search this Thread

Old 07-28-2020, 07:32 AM
1962galaxie
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
overheating 75 supercab

Hey guys, I'm new here, but I'm an ASE Master Tech, so lets assume I'm sound mechanically. My Daily driver is a 1975 F-250 supercab, 2WD, 360, c6. Nice truck. It has dealer a/c, which works mediocre, 50deg air is about as good as I get. All stock.
I drive it 15k/ year, no problems. However, we take some long camping trips with my slide-in camper, and on these, in the summer heat, it will run hot on the highway. You have to watch it to keep it under 215deg at 70mph. Truck had a 2 core rad, then a 3 core rad, I had that recored to 4 core. No help. Flows coolant well, I know, because I once put a head gasket on backwards, which didn't help, so now I'm real aware of coolant flow. Stock shroud, but I've tried the factory fixed fan and a new flex fan. For a while I also had a puller inside the shroud, which helped cool it at idle, but I took it off to see if it was interfering on the highway. I used to keep a bike rack on the front, and took that off which helped a bit, but its still real hot. If it rains, its fine. 80deg day, no problem. But if we are in 90deg weather or up, its scary. I'm pretty sure its an air flow problem. I'm all ears on suggestions though. Its tough to chase, because it only overheats with my family in it on road trips with a trailer or a camper. My next thought is to take out the condenser and see if there is some way to improve air through the radiator and not lose the A/C. Never loses any coolant, and the coolant is clean.

Old 07-28-2020, 10:59 AM
somethingclever
Cargo Master
Received 188 Likes on 135 Posts
Without a load, what temperature does it get to on the same 90 deg day?
Does the temp drop from 215F @ 70mph if you were cruising instead at 60 mph?
Do you have a transmission temp gauge on it?

Old 07-28-2020, 11:06 AM
ford390gashog
Fleet Owner

Received 519 Likes on 398 Posts