1983 - 2012 Ranger & B-Series All Ford Ranger and Mazda B-Series models

ABS light in a late '95 ranger

Search this Thread

Old 06-17-2012, 07:04 PM
ken_r_mer
Freshman User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
ABS light in a late '95 ranger

ABS light came on my '95 Ranger w/ an OBDII setup. Using an Actron scanner, I got a "connection failure" message when trying to read or even erase the code history. Checked the pin connection at the radiator support core-mounted control module (several times) . The pins were clean w/ no corrosion. Checked the resistance at the 2 front wheel sensors and the rear axle sensor. All were within specs. Checked the surface of the 2 front sensors for debris. Both were clean. The fuses in the engine compartment and the cab interior fuse box were all good and I even cleaned up the fuse tabs. Could the "connection failure" be an indication of a failed control module? I have no knowledge on how to check the module. The cheapest refurbished unit online is around $125. Don't want to make a $125 mistake.

Old 06-21-2012, 03:36 PM
ken_r_mer
Freshman User
ABS light

Ok, bought a rebuilt control module. Now getting a Code #C1096 Hydraulic Pump Motor Open Circuit. Checked the connections and they are clean. Any other possibilities as to the open circuit meaning?

Old 06-28-2012, 05:14 PM
ken_r_mer
Freshman User
Still trying

Replaced the 2 relays in the box adjacent to the engine compartment main fues/relay box. Also swapped out the ABS pump motor assembly with a known working used one. Still getting the same message on the ABS scanner. Any ideas out there?

Old 06-28-2012, 06:25 PM
WhiteWidow
Junior User
Originally Posted by ken_r_mer
Ok, bought a rebuilt control module. Now getting a Code #C1096 Hydraulic Pump Motor Open Circuit. Checked the connections and they are clean. Any other possibilities as to the open circuit meaning?