Aerostar Ford Aerostar

A/C refrigerant swap

Search this Thread

Old 05-06-2003, 07:42 PM
ast1960
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
A/C refrigerant swap

Hello fellow Aerostar owners. I am the proud owner of a 93 Electric Red, Aerostar XL extended. This is a great site. I bought my 93 new off the lot. The engine has as much power as it did when it was new. I am a mechanic and have taken care of this vehicle its entire life. I have lots of info to share.

I need advice from those of you familiar with swapping the AC system from r12 to r134a. I've looked at all the threads for the last year. I found out about the fx-15 factory compressor being junk after the fact. I purchased a new fx-15 compressor from Auto Zone last week. I now know that Ford superceded the fx-15 with the fs-10. I don't know what year Ford stopped using the fx and started using the fs but the fine folks at Auto Zone show the fx (they have a different P/N) as being the replacement for 93 up to last model year which I believe is 96? I have the 4.0L. Do any of you know where to get a new fs-10 without going to Ford? Auto Zone didn't have a clue about the fs replacing the fx.

I converted my Aerostar AC system to r134 this past weekend. What a disappointment! I didn't do my home work first. Everything went back together fine. Nothing leaked. Vacuum check held 25 in hg for 30 mins. I replaced the compressor, accumulator/dryer, orifice tubes, new o-rings and flushed evaporators, condenser and lines.