Notices
1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

EFI and AOD in 51 F1 ????? Shifter/TV Cable

 
  #1  
Old 06-08-2012, 07:48 AM
gt40racing's Avatar
gt40racing
gt40racing is offline
Senior User
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Central Coast, California
Posts: 395
gt40racing is starting off with a positive reputation.
EFI and AOD in 51 F1 ????? Shifter/TV Cable

Okay guys, I am running a 91 5.0 with factory EFI and AOD. I have a lokar floor shifter. I am trying to use the stock ford TV cable along with the lokar shifter. I have some minor issues I hope with the configuration of the TV cable and the shifter rod. I also have purchased the cable setup as my backup plan. If anybody has done this please share your ideas and pictures so I can figure out how to make this come together. Thanks.
 
  #2  
Old 06-08-2012, 09:22 AM
carnut122's Avatar
carnut122
carnut122 is offline
Posting Guru
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Waleska, GA
Posts: 2,344
carnut122 is gaining momentum as a positive member of FTE.carnut122 is gaining momentum as a positive member of FTE.
I think one of us is confused? In your previous thread:

https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/1...r-shifter.html

the center lever is not the "kickdown" but it is the throttle valve lever? What do you have the other end of it connected to? The outer lever is your shift lever.
 
  #3  
Old 06-08-2012, 06:42 PM
gt40racing's Avatar
gt40racing
gt40racing is offline
Senior User
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Central Coast, California
Posts: 395
gt40racing is starting off with a positive reputation.
Top cable is my TV Cable and the bottom is my shifter linkage.
 
  #4  
Old 06-08-2012, 08:12 PM
carnut122's Avatar
carnut122
carnut122 is offline
Posting Guru
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Waleska, GA
Posts: 2,344
carnut122 is gaining momentum as a positive member of FTE.carnut122 is gaining momentum as a positive member of FTE.
Originally Posted by gt40racing View Post
Top cable is my TV Cable and the bottom is my shifter linkage.
Yep, so what issue are you having?
 
  #5  
Old 06-09-2012, 02:24 AM
gt40racing's Avatar
gt40racing
gt40racing is offline
Senior User
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Central Coast, California
Posts: 395
gt40racing is starting off with a positive reputation.
Shifter rod is hitting the TV Arm.... seems like cable is the only way to make this work... If this is the case I will have to fab a bracket...
 
  #6  
Old 06-09-2012, 08:03 AM
carnut122's Avatar
carnut122
carnut122 is offline
Posting Guru
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Waleska, GA
Posts: 2,344
carnut122 is gaining momentum as a positive member of FTE.carnut122 is gaining momentum as a positive member of FTE.
Originally Posted by gt40racing View Post
Shifter rod is hitting the TV Arm.... seems like cable is the only way to make this work... If this is the case I will have to fab a bracket...

You can clock the shifter arm into a different position. I assume that you've already tried that? I have a TV arm that might work for your situation. If I remember, I'll try to find it and take a picture to see if you think it might work. I have a column mounted shifter on my truck.
 
  #7  
Old 06-09-2012, 10:29 AM
gt40racing's Avatar
gt40racing
gt40racing is offline
Senior User
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Central Coast, California
Posts: 395
gt40racing is starting off with a positive reputation.
Originally Posted by carnut122 View Post
You can clock the shifter arm into a different position. I assume that you've already tried that? I have a TV arm that might work for your situation. If I remember, I'll try to find it and take a picture to see if you think it might work. I have a column mounted shifter on my truck.
Looking back I wish I had stuck to column. I found a solution late last night. I ordered a B&M shifter and associated parts. After reading the directions, it should work fairly easy. Just need to design my own shift **** rather than the one it has.... I want a more vintage look...

 
  #8  
Old 06-09-2012, 01:59 PM
HT32BSX115's Avatar
HT32BSX115
HT32BSX115 is offline
Postmaster
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Upper Left Coast
Posts: 3,620
HT32BSX115 has a great reputation on FTE.HT32BSX115 has a great reputation on FTE.HT32BSX115 has a great reputation on FTE.HT32BSX115 has a great reputation on FTE.HT32BSX115 has a great reputation on FTE.
Originally Posted by gt40racing View Post
Okay guys, I am running a 91 5.0 with factory EFI and AOD. I have a lokar floor shifter. I am trying to use the stock ford TV cable along with the lokar shifter. I have some minor issues I hope with the configuration of the TV cable and the shifter rod. I also have purchased the cable setup as my backup plan. If anybody has done this please share your ideas and pictures so I can figure out how to make this come together. Thanks.
Howdy,


You do know that if you're running a "factory" EFI engine, that the ECM for that engine will likely control an AODE? Those things are all over the place and would eliminate the TV cable (and the associated problems ) altogether..........

Just saying....


Rick
 
  #9  
Old 06-09-2012, 02:37 PM
gt40racing's Avatar
gt40racing
gt40racing is offline
Senior User
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Central Coast, California
Posts: 395
gt40racing is starting off with a positive reputation.
Originally Posted by HT32BSX115 View Post
Howdy,


You do know that if you're running a "factory" EFI engine, that the ECM for that engine will likely control an AODE? Those things are all over the place and would eliminate the TV cable (and the associated problems ) altogether..........

Just saying....


Rick
I am planning that route in the future!
 
  #10  
Old 06-09-2012, 09:42 PM
HT32BSX115's Avatar
HT32BSX115
HT32BSX115 is offline
Postmaster
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Upper Left Coast
Posts: 3,620
HT32BSX115 has a great reputation on FTE.HT32BSX115 has a great reputation on FTE.HT32BSX115 has a great reputation on FTE.HT32BSX115 has a great reputation on FTE.HT32BSX115 has a great reputation on FTE.
Good luck!


I am doing a similar "thing" with my Y-block + E4OD and Baumann Engr controller!
My second choice engine was a 300 cu-in EFI 6 cyl engine......which would bolt right up to my E4OD.....

I like the idea of the Baumann controller because I can program all the up-shift/down-shift points as well as the TC lock-up speeds/RPM.

Cheers,


Rick
 
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
LARIAT 85
'80-'86 HOWTO's
22
02-07-2019 03:49 AM
kdaug5
1967 - 1972 F-100 & Larger F-Series Trucks
6
11-30-2015 10:49 AM
zeebish
Clutch, Transmission, Differential, Axle & Transfer Case
6
11-22-2015 12:29 AM
kdaug5
1967 - 1972 F-100 & Larger F-Series Trucks
9
08-14-2015 05:13 PM
zsir
1967 - 1972 F-100 & Larger F-Series Trucks
0
07-14-2012 12:22 AM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: EFI and AOD in 51 F1 ????? Shifter/TV Cable


Contact Us - About Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.