Notices
1987 - 1996 F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks 1987 - 1996 Ford F-150, F-250, F-350 and larger pickups - including the 1997 heavy-duty F250/F350+ trucks
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

switch to synthetic oil

Search this Thread

Old 05-06-2003, 04:18 PM
racinghoss
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question switch to synthetic oil

Hey all

I have a 1990 F-150 4.9L 4x4 with 154,000 miles on it. I havent had it long but I know that the fella who I bought it from used Havoline 10W-30.

I was wondering what you all thought about switching to synthetic oil. Is it a good idea? What are the pros/cons. What is the best type to use?

I have never used any type of synthetic oil before.

Thanks

Matt

Old 05-06-2003, 04:37 PM
90f150moneypit
Posting Guru
switch to synthetic oil

I've heard using synthetic on higher mileage motors is not a good idea. Also not good for brand new motors (break in issues).
If I find where I read that I will post it. It was a very insightful article.

Old 05-06-2003, 04:39 PM
luke_trash
Senior User
switch to synthetic oil

pros: longer change intervals, higher resistance to heat, less wear on parts, resistance to breakdown of the oil

cons: spendy, has a tendency to leak out of older engines

someone told me it may affect fuel milage if the car runs at a lower temperature than it was engineered to (better lubrication)

But that might be a total lie.

Mobil 1 seems to be the oil of choice among my friends.

My oil of choice for my truck is whatever is on sale for under a buck a quart.

- -

Old 05-06-2003, 04:43 PM
jbalestri
Posting Guru
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
switch to synthetic oil