6.0L Power Stroke Diesel 2003 - 2007 F250, F350 pickup and F350+ Cab Chassis, 2003 - 2005 Excursion and 2003 - 2009 van

No Start over Memorial Day Weekend

Search this Thread

Old 05-27-2012, 05:09 PM
blair_ne
Freshman User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
No Start over Memorial Day Weekend

Hello all,

I'm a posting newbie, so please be kind. I was driving my non-modded 2004 6.0 PSD Friday afternoon and it seemed to lose power. The gauges looked normal and aside from the slight loss of power, it felt and sounded fine. I gave it more fuel and the RPMs went up some, but power dwindled. This happened over the course of about 4 blocks. Just as soon as I was crossing traffic to pull into a gas station it died (it just kind of puttered out). Another F250 owner was nearby and pulled me out of traffic into the parking lot.

I suspected a fuel issue, so I called my wife and she took me to get new fuel filters, which I replaced in the parking lot. On my mobile phone I read on the FTE forums about the fuel filters while waiting for my wife. The old filters were dirty, but not filthy. These were changed with my last oil change approx. 5,000 miles ago. I tried to star the truck a few times, most of the time it just cranked, but would not "fire" and run by itself. Once it started and ran rough-ish, but when I put it in gear it wanted to die. Also, when I gradually gave it fuel it died. At this point I was hot and partially soaked in diesel (from the lower filter change) so I called the tow truck and had it towed home.

Caveat - I am new-ish to diesels. I have performed maintenance and repairs on all of my other vehicles, but am still learning the intricacies of the 6.0L.

Once home I read countless FTE posts with similar issues, but I'm limited in what I can do and/or test. The steps I took (not necessarily in order) are below:

1) Change both upper and lower fuel filters.
2) Drain water from HFCM.