Sponsored by: Moser

78' F150 xlt. Replacing Engine

Search this Thread

Old 03-06-2012, 11:31 AM
Idaho_truck
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
78' F150 xlt. Replacing Engine

I have a 1978 F150 xlt which had a 400 big block in it. I have had the pickup for a couple years and it has had no problems what so ever. Recently, on a trip back from school to home the engine took a dump on me and now I need to replace the engine.
I do not know much about the different engines for this pickup, but I have done some research and I think i am between the 460, the 302, or even the 300.
The 460 is what I want to put in it, just because I am a college student, and I will do anything to get more power in my rig ... but i know that the mpg would kill me in the long haul. The 302 I do not know much about, A buddie of mine had one in a newer 90's ford and that thing was in the shop more than on the road... And the 300 i know nothing about...

So I know that everyone on here has some great input and ideas that could be very helpful. . .

What engine would you replace my old 400 with?
Roughly how much does it cost to buy a rebuilt engine, and install it myself.
any other input, problems ?

Thanks a lot

~ Poor college kid

Old 03-06-2012, 12:20 PM
FineSeventyNine
Tennessee Hillbilly

Doing it on the cheap.......find a good used running 400 or even a 351 and go back with it.

A 460 will eat your fuel budget alive....especially when gas goes to $5 a gallon.

Changing size will require changing other stuff...motor mounts, etc...which will all add up to $$$$$ in the end, plus if you don't have the experience or skill to do it, then you gotta find some help or pay...

Old 03-06-2012, 12:24 PM
ChiefM
FTE Chapter Leader
Received 12 Likes on 9 Posts
I agree with Fine 79, Go back as stock as possible,then a few years from now upgrade when your pocket can afford it.

Old 03-06-2012, 12:27 PM
mjshagnasty
Senior User