Sponsored by: DP Tuner

HELP!

Search this Thread

Old 07-04-2016, 10:22 PM
Salmon Guy
Junior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
HELP!

So I have another active post, But it's changed a bit and I need some more advice. Our 2000 F350 SDCC4DLB 4X4 7.3 180,000 miles. The last two tank fills of fuel have been causing me to sputter to the side of the roar and dump fuel, I've been doing this for the last two months with the WATER IN FUEL LIGHT COMING ON". Six months ago service eng. came on.
CODE
LOW OR HIGH FUEL OR OIL PRESSURE- I changed the motor oil, and filter and Main Fuel bowl filter, Reset codes and all seemed good.

Now I pulled and cleanned tank, Did the HUTCH MODS__ I drained 8 gallons when I pulled the tank didn't seem like there was any water in it. My two stock filters were plugged, Removed them put 15 GAL. of fuel from a different station. Drove about 10 miles and the motor shut down, I drained the bowl and drove home. Remembered I had a grey CAM SHAFT SENSOR in my glove box, So I replaced the GREY one With a GREY one and It Idled for about 10 minuites then SHUT DOWN???
I'm not sure what to do next except take it to a shop.

Old 07-05-2016, 01:13 AM
ebbnflow
Senior User
Received 5 Likes on 1 Post
My guess would be your fuel pump. Do you have a gauge to monitor fuel pressure? The fuel pump is mounted to the inside of the frame rail under the driver's seat. If you don't have a gauge, I'd feel it. It should vibrate a bit when it's running.

Old 07-05-2016, 01:31 AM
aawlberninf350
It's a Van Gogh
Received 785 Likes on 574 Posts
I'd unplug the WIF harness, open the yellow drain valve and key on pump for 20 seconds to drain any water. Close valve and if it drives happy you're good. Watch the discharge, it should be substantial if the pump is good.

Did you clean and replace the in tank filters or ditch them?

No other codes now? How are you reading the codes?

Does not sound CPS related.

Old 07-05-2016, 05:11 AM
Tugly
Hotshot
Received 111 Likes on 66 Posts