1994.5 - 1997 7.3L Power Stroke Diesel  

Bought 97 F350 AND HAVE A FEW QUESTIONS

Search this Thread

Old 02-26-2012, 07:00 PM
nossliw
Cargo Master
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Bought 97 F350 AND HAVE A FEW QUESTIONS

I'm somewhat new to diesels and have wanted one for as long as I have owned my 460 F350. Finally picked up a standard cab 5 speed F350 with a 7.3 with 114k. The reason I went for it was the motor looked phenominal and it ran awesome... Anyways long story short I got it home and now there are issues I did not see after driving it home. The guy seemed to be a trustworthy fellow but I should have thought about it since the truck had already been warmed up when I got there.

First big thing..... The clutch, he claims he replaced it and it appears that it was replace but holy shat it sounds like hell when at idle and cold. It almost sounds like a terrible rattle... like the flywheel is hitting the finger springs on the diaphram or something. When it is at running temperature this is almost not noticeable, yet at time it decides to be loud on and off and I did not think much of it when looking it over since it was not as apparent when the truck was already warm from him driving to meet me. What could this be? I am at a loss here but all my other manual trans vehicles did not sound like this....nor do I think it is normal for the PSD. The pedal feels very soft for the clutch as well. I drove it about 100miles home and never had any issues except 3rd likes to grind. It engages and disengages just fine but the pedal just feels funky, looks like they replaced the hydrolic cylinder up on the firewall for the clutch as well. I have already picked up syncromesh from royal purple for the trans on the way home.