Sponsored by:

RPM change from 3.73 to 4.88 gears *Video*

Search this Thread

Old 02-05-2012, 08:45 AM
Front Runner
Elder User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
RPM change from 3.73 to 4.88 gears *Video*

For those thinking about a gear change and would like to see the real world difference in RPM's afterwards. I'm still in the breakin period right now so I'm pretty easy on it. I'll post more on fuel mileage as I rack up more miles.

My speedo is about 5 mph off at 60 mph because of the tire size increase so 60 is actually 65 mph and so forth on up the mph range.

Please pardon the video quality, I'm not a pro at this stuff.

RPM change from 3.73 gears to 4.88 gears with 35" tires (actually 34.8).

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_jjrR7VkLN8

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YAoYwhfnz9k

I hope someone who is thinking about a gear change finds these videos helpful.

Old 02-05-2012, 08:55 AM
volthause
Senior User
Cool vids! Not to hijack your thread, but can you give some info about what you mean in your signature about the pro-comp all spring lift? Did you get the standard SD 4 inch lift and then buy the rear lift springs separately? I haven't been able to find an "all spring lift kit" on the pro-comp website.

Your truck looks awesome! Same type of lift I want to do eventually.

Thanks in advance!

Old 02-05-2012, 09:04 AM
LivingLarge
Post Fiend
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Good info, you should gain some mpg's in city driving and lose a little bit with highway...

You must really love that extra torque at takeoff.

Old 02-05-2012, 09:14 AM
EXv10
Post Fiend
Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts
OP; now you are just a little lower than stock 3.7's. Mine is at exactly 2k rpms with 3.7's and stock tires at 60 mph..

Old 02-05-2012, 09:30 AM
EXv10
Post Fiend
Originally Posted by LivingLarge
Good info, you should gain some mpg's in city driving and lose a little bit with highway...

You must really love that extra torque at takeoff.