1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

Love some suggestions. 1952 ford f3 build.

Search this Thread

Old 01-30-2012, 11:13 PM
Mattie2294
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Love some suggestions. 1952 ford f3 build.

Hey there all,
I'm new to this so don't laugh when I know just the bare essentials.

Bought a 1952 Ford f3 running and driving flathead v8 . Now I'm deciding what route I want to take ...

I want to stick to mostly original except , I am mainly wondering since its an f3 (3/4 ton) it's geared really low and what I was thinking is to:
1. Swap the carb for a 4 barrel edelbrock carb
2. Swap The heads for edelbrock heads
3. Do different exhaust and headers

With that I would also like to change the gearing of the rear diff. To allow for more speed and not such a low gearing ratio.

Is this possible has anyone done this or does anyone have any suggestions on what to do so I could get some decent performance yet keeping it still the origonal motor, whether swap in an f-100 rear diff or what .

This is just one of the many things I'll be thinking about during this build and everyone's help and suggestions about anything and everything would be a great help!

Thanks .

Old 01-30-2012, 11:31 PM
mtflat
Lead Driver

Received 332 Likes on 256 Posts
Hi, we've all been there at one time or another.

It's all very do-able. My 48 F1 has run similar mods since '01.

Just be careful with your 4 bbl. 390 cfm is all that a stock flathead can inhale due to the restricted breathing. More than that risks high fuel consumption, washing cylinder walls with excess gas, poor performance from running rich, etc, etc.

The half-ton rearend swap would give you two bolt patterns. Look for a lower ratio rear from a 57-72 F250 - still have 8 bolt wheels, but with better road gears.