2004 - 2008 F150 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007 and 2008 Ford F150's with 5.4 V8, 4.6 V8 engine
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

JL Audio sub and amp installed

Search this Thread

Old 03-08-2011, 08:56 AM
MCDavis
Hotshot
Received 9 Likes on 7 Posts
JL Audio sub and amp installed

A few weeks ago I was looking around for a small sub and amp combo to put in my SCrew. I wasn't looking for something to rattle the windows and wake up the neighbors. I just wanted to reinforce the lows that the 5x7"s cannot produce.
I came across a bunch of items online, mostly "stealth" boxes that needed a sub matched to the specs, then adding an amp. I quickly found that this was not as budget friendly as I had hoped. Additionally, those stealth boxes are huge and usually require removing the jack and jack tools.
So I then moved onto looking at Bazooka bass tubes. I encountered one big problem in my eyes, no shops around here sell and install them. I'm a big believer in pro-install for a few reasons...mainly the time and headache it saves me.
I then came across this little tiny ported enclosure from JL Audio. It's about 5.5" thick, roughly 18" long, and just 11" deep and best of all it comes already loaded with JL's 8" W3v3. Those dimensions happen to be just the amount of space needed underneath the driver's side rear seat. I measured like mad: seat down of course, but also wanted to make sure I could still have the seat up if need be. All the dimensions measured out to be ok so I made the trip down the street and had these ordered:

Subwoofer enclosure:
JL Audio CP108LG-W3v3 Subwoofer systems

Monoblock amplifier:
JL Audio JX250/1 Amplifiers - Car Audio Amps & Amplifiers