1999 to 2016 Super Duty 1999 to 2016 Ford F250, F350, F450 and F550 Super Duty with diesel V8 and gas V8 and V10 engines
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

looking at an f450 4x4 this weekend - what to check?

Search this Thread

Old 12-22-2011, 07:31 PM
guillesr
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
looking at an f450 4x4 this weekend - what to check?

I'm a mechanic but into vintage cars, so the newer diesel truck stuff is a bit out of my league.

There's an '01 F450 4x4 cab and chassis for sale locally. 7.3/6spd - 177k miles.

It was used as a tank truck for a foundation sealing company and the owner sounds up front about its use. Has had regular maintenance, no major issues aside from a broken ring/pinion that was replaced at the dealer a few years ago.

What should I look for as far as issues? anything specific to the 450/550 series? It will need 2 rear tires (ouch!) but I can probably get it for under 9k.

Its the only 6 speed 4x4 I've come across yet and its right on my door step. And for the price, compared to an F350 "fancy" truck I'm getting a lot more for the money it seems...Since there's no bed I'd build a custom flatbed - kinda like a western hauler without the slider hitch.

Any help is appreciated!

Old 12-22-2011, 08:17 PM
RM2738
Posting Guru
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Sounds like a nice buy. Love the 7.3's. What type of maintenance records does he have? That'd be my only concern.

Old 12-22-2011, 08:33 PM
Shake-N-Bake
Post Fiend

Received 19 Likes on 17 Posts
This thread will help you out a ton.
https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/5...questions.html

Good luck!

Old 12-22-2011, 09:43 PM
A/Ox4
9 ECHO 1

Received 35 Likes on 30 Posts
Be careful if youre using the truck for personal purposes. The 450 crosses the line into a different vehicle class (Not class A, B , C... but by GVWR) in most if not all states.

Old 12-23-2011, 12:28 AM
guillesr
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the link, I'll do some reading tonight.